Pottermore Cheats – Ruining the fun of all 4 Houses

Tonight it has come to the attention of the #pottermorefamily that there are people out there on pottermore who have nothing else better to do with their time than to cheat on a massive scale by losing House points on purpose. Thanks to this blog: http://burnbook777.tumblr.com/   we have a pretty good idea how they operate. They have multiple accounts (which is against Pottermore’s terms and conditions for betas) and open different tabs or browsers to make as many potions as possible and fail on purpose (losing 5 points each time). With that you can add the so called ‘time-turner’ cheat of potion brewing , by moving your pc clock ahead by 70 minutes, you don’t have to wait the full 80 real time minutes, before making another one! 

The cheats are not only Slytherins but they are indeed in EVERY house! Just this afternoon we were wondering in Hufflepuff common room how on earth did we manage to lose over 600 points so quickly. I think with this blog we have our answer! Potion failing on purpose! I know we’re not the most popular house, but look at Gryffindor? How on earth did Ravenclaw overtake them by such a margin?!

I emailed Pottermore and added these screenshots (though with full facebook names!) to them in hope that you cheats out there will get banned! It’s not fair to the thousands who are playing the game fairly!


52 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Seeker Erised (@SeekerErised69)
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 00:31:18

    Good on you. I how Pottermore does something about this

  2. Rose Witch ϟ (@RoseWitch149)
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 17:01:48

    The ip addresses should be banned in in order to prevent their current multiple accounts and future accounts when the site opens to the public!

  3. ElmBlade43
    Aug 28, 2011 @ 17:09:48

    Stupid cheats ruining it for the rest of us. What’s the point of PATIENTLY brewing 80 minute potion after 80 minute potion just to see people are fast forwarding the brewing process. Ack.

  4. Trackback: Pottermore Cheats – Update «
  5. moonstonemugwump
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 10:25:11

    Are house points really that important to these people that they’d stoop so low for some innocent fun? Ugh! I’m so ashamed that these people might consider themselves “Potterheads”!

    • SeekerRose184
      Sep 01, 2011 @ 11:14:14

      I know right! What bothers me most is that they made all these duplicate accounts: places that should have gone to real fans or the young children out there!
      That makes me more furious than losing the housecup. At least play fairly when you get inside pottermore: it’s just a game, a site to have fun. Why spoil it with this abysmal behaviour! Grrrr

  6. punkfuckderbylove
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 11:30:24

    Hey yo, I just want to say that I love that you tried to block out all of the names– but if you’re gonna do it, then do it right and read the crap. You left my name and another’s name in comments. I’m not ashamed, we all do what we gotta do though, and we’re definitely not the first house to do it. 😉 But don’t get me wrong, I do think that is completely shitty to just go and put names up and stuff.

    heaps of love,
    Charity

    • SeekerRose184
      Sep 01, 2011 @ 11:41:59

      Well dear not only that 😛 Pottermore has ALL your full names ;p just saying as i emailed the screen shots in FULL.
      So have fun while it last as they’re investigating you all! (got a full reply from the PM staff thanking me for actually being ‘shitty’ and bringing it to their attention)

      Have a lovely day!

  7. Xavier (@RoseSeer195)
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 11:50:07

    Good on you S.Rose! She was merely protecting your identity on the the web, but as far as I’m concerned, I’m glad PM has your full names, will be able to trace you up and lock you out. It really is a waste of a Beta account. There are plenty of other people out there who deserved it better than those cheap cheats!

  8. Willow Night (@WillowNight27)
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 12:00:23

    Thank you SeekerRose for pointing this problem out. You are the protector of us true fans of Harry Potter, especially for those,like me, who are still waiting for our welcome email.
    And to the cheaters,having your names on here accidentally is such a minor problem compared to the cheating that you’ve been doing, which seems to be INTENTIONAL and against the Pottermore rules. Oh well, go figure. I guess that’s why you’re cheaters in the first place since you have a twisted sense of what’s right and wrong.

  9. punkfuckderbylove
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 12:09:36

    P.S.– About the multiple account? It was honestly made for someone who was out of town during the quill challenge but who I knew would use it just as much as any of us, we recently had a fall out and I refuse to speak to her. The night that this screen cap was taken I hadn’t yet received an e-mail for that account. I asked my house what we should do, we were being infiltrated left and right by other houses and I figured that I could delete it, or infiltrate another. (Honestly, I think that all of this sneaky stuff only makes this game more fun!)
    I got the e-mail two days later, and for your information… I tried to answer like a Ravenclaw but ended right back up in Slytherin. But by then the bombarding of Ravenclaws trying to get into our groups and forums, and the bombarding of our house trying to get into Ravenclaw’s had very much died down. So I felt there was no more use in the ideas.

    Though, I do find it hilarious that you mentioned that every house is cheating, yet four of those five screen caps are Slytherin. The same conversation as well. A conversation that happened last week. (Very old news on the front of ratting out other houses and players.)

    We all KNOW that each and every house has both honest people AND cheaters, there is no denying that. But it’s people like you are so self richeous that really irritate me. I fail to believe that you’ve never once used the multiplier, the time turner, or tried to see what another common room or group looked like. It’s people like you, who claim that their houses are so damn innocent, that honestly ruin this game more than anything. Because you’re liars. Every house has cheated, a lot.

    Everything you say is so old, annoying, and usually hollow. See… you call it unfair, I call it being competitive. You say it’s fucked up, I say it’s fun. You say it’s wrong, I say that’s a matter of opinion. You report it, I don’t give a fuck.
    This rivalry is what keeps most of us on this site, the way we play doesn’t have an effect on who is or is not a Potterhead. I feel sorry for you if you honestly think I love this series any less then you do, just because I was caught living up to the expectations that people have of my house.

    You know why I know I’m not any less of a Potterhead then you? Because while I might have said all of that, I never once posted a person’s real name while calling them out. I never once brought this game out of the virtual reality that it is. But you made it real when you decided to post my name, that’s lower then any cheating.

    You want to play the game of reporting things? I’ve reported you to this very site.

    • SeekerRose184
      Sep 01, 2011 @ 12:16:12

      Darling if you don’t give a fuck why replying at all? ;p
      Besides i’m not the first person who reported you guys! It’s not my blog on tumbr who did it soo whatever 😀
      Also someone else said that it’s not just Slytherin (a grass if you will on twitter) so yeah have ‘fun’ while it lasts is all i can say.

  10. punkfuckderbylove
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 12:22:57

    No, I think you fail to realize that I don’t give a fuck that you reported me, though I do care about other certain issues. Such as using legit names and degrading people for no reason. You are a filthy git for telling me I’m wrong, yet playing so low and dirty yourself. Now that is all.

  11. SeekerRose184
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 12:39:47

    Ok i’m going to say one last thing: How have i degraded you for no reason? Besides all i said you were cheating on Pottermore which you admit you do! It’s your right to feel no remorse but I’m thinking of all the young kids and other ages who’ve tried to gain a PM account and failed and now you guys use it to ‘compete’ as you so call it. If i’m a filthy git for telling you guys off so be it! Now that is all!

  12. glowhallow
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 13:04:35

    Well my friend, at least you know who this pathetic person is–because they already self-identified as the person whose name was not blocked out…I think yet another screen shot of these offensive comments would bolster Pottermore’s case to ban them! It’s threatening cyber bullying behavior and very reflective of this person’s deep-seated pyscho social problems. No wonder the “friend” whom they say they created the spare account for had a “falling out” with them!

    You know you have strong support here and a wealth of friends–because you are an honorable person who knows what friendship is. People always define themselves by their language…as this person has demonstrated.

    Just wanted you to know that our Pottermore’s Family means more than house or points. We have each other’s backs.

    I’m proud to count you as my friend. ❤

  13. Seeker Erised (@SeekerErised69)
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 15:57:56

    Well said Glow Hallow. Mess with a Pottermore Family member and you’re messing with quite a crowd of people haha.

    Impressed as I was by your ability to articulate rather well Charity (you presented great punctuation marks and clear arguments, even if they were all warped), can I just point out that you kinda put the “Dumb” in Dumbledore’s Army by discussing your less than worthy schemes in such a public forum.

    Helloo?

    Dude, the thing you’ve accused Seeker Rose of doing (“making it real” as you put it) is the very same reason you might just find yourself in serious trouble. But since you’re currently vacationing in idontgiveafuckstan, I guess its all good.

  14. Andrew Weiss (@The44thHour)
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 18:44:27

    Yeah, I hope the cheating issue is solved soon. Before the release date at the least. I think once the other books are opened and there is more to do, the cheating will subside a little on its own.
    -ScaleHeart56

  15. Lauren Taylor
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 19:27:04

    This really bother me, as I have not yet received my welcome email! Don’t ruin what so many of us are desperately waiting to be a part of!

  16. America Green
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 19:56:22

    Thanks so much for helping to eradicate the problem! Even from my own house, I’ve been reporting cheating, as it seriously ruins the game for those just trying to have fun. I don’t give a fuck if you think the cheating and spying makes the game more entertaining; you’re ruining it for all of us.

    And if you think everyone cheats, think again. I haven’t once attempted the time-turner trick, and several members of the Slytherin FB group consider cheating a grave offense.

    Hope ya’ll cheaters are served a swift banning.

  17. Louise Victoria Lomas
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 20:39:56

    punkfuckderbylove – no one is suggesting that there is no cheating in their house. It is going on in every house, though not like this. No one in Hufflepuff has even mentioned infiltrating other houses and losing them points on purpose, only that people should try and mess up potions in order to gain points, and there are just as many of us trying to discourage this. You’re the one that is condoning this repellent cheating – it is people like you who are taking the fun away by being vindictive and nasty. Your pathetic excuse doesn’t get past anyone, all the evidence we, AND POTTERMORE, needs is in the pictures above. I’m crossing my fingers that your cheating days are limited and you, and any other cheaters, are kicked off the site, leaving the fun up to the rest of us who want to play properly and fairly and in the spirit of J. K. Rowling and Harry Potter.

  18. Hermione Granger ;) (@BeautyComplex)
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 20:45:43

    @punkfuckderbylove This bitch has the nerve to say its alright to cheat!!! why is this world so fucked up????Well I guess the rest of us are stupid for waiting and playing fair while you -as a smartass you are- can go arround cheating because you cant fucking play a game????are you serious????and you claim you are a real fucking Potterhead????how’s that???cuz last time I checked a real fan wouldnt cheat…so by this logic If I go online on my fave celebs website and hack the motherfucking pass or whatever just to be a smartass makes me a real fan??Dude get a clue.and dont be so ”oh I dont give a fuck” shitting…cuz welcome to the real world YOU’RE GONNA GET YOUR IP address BLOCKED. let us see who will be laughing in the end…

  19. Nicole (@kittycatwindow)
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 21:00:16

    This is disgusting. Especially that fool up there… I can’t even formulate a response right now, because my mind is completely boggled by the fact that someone could be so idioitic.

    Also, Mr. PunkFuckderByLove, no one said anything about their house not cheating… I’m a Ravenclaw, and I know my house was cheating… I even have proof, and I could go take a screencap RIGHT NOW if I wanted to.. The only reason there are so many Slytherin pictures is because, due to their personalities, they tend to be the ones who brag about it the most. I’m not saying that means that anyone else cheats less, but we just don’t have many people in the other houses bragging about their cheating.

    Also: ” I fail to believe that you’ve never once used the multiplier, the time turner, or tried to see what another common room or group looked like.”
    I can proudly say that I have never done the Time Turner trick and that I have NO clue what the multiplier trick is… Also, what do common room appearances have to do with anything? This is the beta test… you can’t just go and make 5 new accounts to get all 4 houses..

  20. Nicole (@kittycatwindow)
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 21:08:10

    Also, I really don’t see why they’d burn cauldrons for the poor Hufflepuffs… Why would they do it to the house in last place? (No offense, I know you’re a Hufflepuff)
    What’s the point of making the losing house have a lower score than they already do? That’s disgusting.
    All of the low-lives who did that were probably just Slytherin rejects who were pissed that they were put into Hufflepuff and not Slytherin..

  21. Emily-May Williams (@awesome_owls)
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 21:46:01

    I hope people realise it’s not all the Slytherin’s. I’m one and I respect all houses and everyone in them. This cheating is disgusting. It’s unfair to Gryffindor and Ravenclaw.
    If they’re earning their points properly then that’s ok, but making extra accounts or whatever for this purpose only is sick. I hope who ever is doing this sees what they’re doing wrong and makes up for it by using their accounts to repay all the points they lost.

  22. Janine
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 22:01:10

    Well it is good to report bugs in a game but I won’t call that cheating. Anyway this is a BETA game and we are here for nothing more than finding as much glitches as possible. The real game starts in October and I am pretty sure they’re going to reset the points. So no harm done except we found some ways they need to fix.

    Everyone who is complaining should think about this. It is Beta.
    You signed up for it. 🙂 Life is serious enough.

  23. Samantha Colombo (@samdeep)
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 22:09:48

    Thank you Seekerrose.. It’s been pissing me off that people are taking advantage of this.
    As for this… I don’t have a name bad enough to do her justice lmao but I am talking of course about punkfuckderbylove.
    The point of the game is NOT to cheat. Go play some other game if you want to cheat.
    And the screen caps are all from Slytherin probably cause your common room willingly lets other houses in their common room lmao. Your house’s bad. Not our’s.
    What about the people (majority of us Pottermore players) actually want to play the game RIGHT and gain points rightfully? You guys are ruining it for us and it’s not fair.
    And you can argue back with seeker all you want, because whether you do you not it won’t saved you from being banned. (I really hope you are! :])

  24. Chuck (@CaptnChuck)
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 22:15:10

    I think we’re all missing the whole point of “early access into Pottermore to HELP shape the experience”. It’s called BETA TESTING. Beta testing is all about finding loopholes and glitches and abusing them for Pottermore to FIX it by the time it goes live in October. Let’s face it, online games are and will never be perfectly guarded. People will find ways to “beat” these programs. People will find ways to cheat the system. This is why Pottermore needs US. We shouldn’t be focusing on house points or which house is winning right now but instead, focusing on finding more glitches, looking for more loopholes, abusing the game and sending feedback to Pottermore. That’s what beta testers do. Why would Pottemore ban players during beta testing? That’s ridiculous!

    Pottermore should be thankful to these testers because they’re doing their job, compared to those who play “honestly” without making any contributions to helping shape Pottermore experience. If we were not made aware of these loopholes at this early stage, then imagine the rampant cheating that would happen come October.

    In Beta Testing, points and scores do not matter. You think it’s fair that by the time the game formally opens to the public, some of us are done with Philosopher’s Stone and have earned thousands of points? A Standard Operating Procedure (SOP) for beta testing is a complete wipe out of scores by the time a game goes live. Does anybody even know that? Guess not.

  25. Rod
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 22:17:59

    I don’t understand how SeekerRose posting your FIRST NAME is such a huge deal. It’s not like she posted your full name, birthdate, and/or where you live…Besides, you identified yourself as the person up there on the screen. You bamboozled yourself.

    (I haven’t even gotten my Pottermore email yet, for the record.)

  26. SeekerRose184
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 22:34:44

    Thank you sooo much for all this support girls and guys!! Awesome!! *hugs*
    This is slightly freaking me out how much attention this post has gotten now , but I’m glad people learn the truth that not all is fair and good in Pottermore (yet) I hope the Beta phase will indeed help eradicate all loopholes against cheating. It’s not so much the time-turner cheat that’s worse, as i know my Badgers did it as well! But to lose points on purpose is truly the worst (not talking about melting yr cauldron when you don’t mean to of course ;p I ). Truly hope PM deals with this. Huge thanks to all again! xxxx

  27. Just Jen. (@xFadedMemorieZx)
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 00:21:36

    OMG How rude is that person, and how dumb to try and talk her wrong doings right. Competitive? Don’t make me laugh!

    SeekerRose, you did well by reporting these scammers. It’s so unfair what they do, what is even worse is that their multi accounts have been activated while a lot of people are still waiting to get their welcome email. (including me but feel free to add me if you like, CauldronGlow151)

    Anyway, i hope PM bans their IP’s, it’s the only way theu truly can be warded off.

    -Jen-

  28. xxangelicevilxx
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 02:31:46

    Sorry. Pottermore isn’t a game. It has games in it, but the whole of it is not a game. It’s more about the experience, the new facts, etc. etc.

    So if you really have nothing better to do than go onto Pottermore and cheat for the House Cup [and that’s all it is. It’s not prize money, it’s not for a gift, or a sweepstakes, purely for bragging rights], then I:

    1) Question your mental stability

    2) Believe you are NOT a true fan of Harry Potter and your ass needs to be removed from the website, ASAP.

    What’s disgusting is people from all houses doing this. I’m a Ravenclaw, and I’m ashamed that someone who is supposed to be INTELLIGENT, intelligent enough to be placed in that house, would go to those lengths.

    But it’s obvious that the people involved in this are CHILDREN who SHOULD be doing their MUGGLE homework with the rest of the muggles. You don’t deserve to be on that website if that’s what you’re going to use it for. To think there are people out there who still haven’t received their emails who wouldn’t pull this crap, and here you are, wasting a valuable slot a more honest person would take.

    And I’m sorry, but “there’s always a cheater” doesn’t justify your actions. It makes you look like more of an idiot. You can either be a coward who cheats and then makes excuses that “It’s okay because they’re doing it,” or you can be a mature human being, not do it. Hell, you’d even be more mature if you said “Yeah, I suck, I know. I cheat, and I’m sorry.” But you’re not that mature. You’re just a little child, and if I ever met your mother, I’d probably slap her for not bringing you up with proper manners.

  29. Laura Oldenburg
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 04:05:20

    Funny for you to mention cheating Samantha Columbo, you and your twin personally tried to sabotage the Slytherin house.

    And honestly, being a Slytherin I am very upset that my house is cheating when I know I am playing fairly, but you can not blame it all on us, Ravenclaw went from being dead last to leaping thousands of points ahead to first in a matter of days. DAYS!!

    Good for you for turning in the cheaters, I don’t want them in my house

    • Nicole (@kittycatwindow)
      Sep 02, 2011 @ 19:02:01

      Listen, I’m not gonna speak for my sister, but the only reason I was in the Slytherin room was because they said that anyone could join.
      (I quote: “We are a closed group but we are not going through the hassle of high security questions so anyone can join serpent or not. So beware, don’t post anything you do not want a badger, eagle or lion seeing. ” )
      I posted a picture of the same conversation Seeker screencapped to the Ravenclaw group only to show my house that we need to get brewing so we can keep our lead… Also, in the post, I mentioned that a lot of the Slytherins have hearts.
      I never talked down to you, because I have physical proof that people in my house are cheating as well. (not sure if I can post pictures here though)

      I never tried to sabotage the Slytherins… Believe it or not, I like them, and I have a bunch of Snake-ish characteristics myself, so I could’ve easily been in the Slytherin house. Me being in the group that I was ALLOWED to be in has nothing to do with cheating or sabotaging, and I would never cheat OR sabotage.

      Also, Colombo** Sorry lmao, it just bothers me when people put the U.

      Once again, sorry for the misunderstanding. Don’t think that I hate you guys. I’m actually one of the only people in my Ravenclaw group sticking up for you.

      Truce?

    • gravalinaisacat
      Sep 02, 2011 @ 19:19:22

      My sister already said basically everything. Yeah, I joined the group cause it actually says anyone can. I never did anything to sabotage. And I never said it was only the slytherins cheating, I see proof of it in my house also.

      It’s still wrong whether it is Slytherins or any other house, but joining your common room isn’t cheating if you let anyone join it (PS. I have not even attempted to join your higher security group because it is not my intentions to sabotage you guys. I think it’s gross that everyone is so competitive over points and it’s just the beta testing.)

  30. Danielle (@GoldNight154)
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 07:00:22

    Oh no! That’s awful! 😦 Kids play on Pottermore! Hopefully this sort of thing won’t matter once Pottermore is open to the public because there will be SO many accounts! 🙂

  31. Ruchika Pradhan
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 07:10:02

    Wow, i had no idea people were using so many strategies to make other houses lose points. If only they put their efforts to honestly gain points for their own houses!! Cheating is not right and pottermore should ban these people.

  32. Laura Oldenburg
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 08:49:27

    Wow, my reply is being mod’d LOL
    Someone doesn’t like the truth

  33. Chloe Wolfie Mitterer
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 09:02:33

    Bit excessive, isn’t it? I mean, I never cheated. In fact, potions only worked for one day for me, no chance to cheat, really. It’s been glitched ever since. But really now, pottermore is going to have people cheating. Of course they are cheating, it’s a /game/, Everybody cheats in games, more or less, and you bet that the “poor young kids” you are so worried about will be cheating if they find any cheats. When I was eight or whatever, and if I knew about the “time turning cheat” or anything else easy like that, I would use it.

    Do you get all freaked out and want to ban people whom are peeking during hide and seek from playing the game for the rest of their lives? (Just like IP banning, which is stupid seeing as majority of people don’t have static IP’s, and even if they do it is usually a household, where you would be banning at least two or more people)

  34. Natalie Powell-Davies
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 10:11:17

    This is actually so disappointing. It does completely ruin the fun and I’m losing my faith in humanity. (or Potterheads anyway)

  35. Steffie Williams
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 12:44:12

    Seriously! Cheating on Pottermore! this is rediculus! I was not successful in the magic quill challenge it kept saying “registration is finished for today” everyday but I have been listening to my friends talk about it and have been getting really excited for it to go public. The thing is when you cheat you make the game boring for you and others. Why no play fairly and then you can get a sense of achievement when you do well. I hate cheaters and hope you all get your cumupance soon!

  36. SeekerRose184
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 15:40:45

    Thank you all once again for all your comments! It means a lot really!! *hugs* xxx

  37. Laura Oldenburg
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 20:13:16

    Hey, we have proof that a gryffindor purposely sabatoged Slytherin and cost us -149pts. Its not just Slytherins that are cheating you know

  38. Nicole (@kittycatwindow)
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 22:14:23

    “The cheats are not only Slytherins but they are indeed in EVERY house!”
    We know. My sister recently found a BUNCH of Gryffindor cheaters in her house, and I’ve found a fair few Ravenclaws. We need to stop singling out certain houses. It’s just dumb. But we also need to stop assuming that everyone is out to get us and our house.

  39. Trackback: Updates & massive cyberhugs «
  40. Jennifer Hyde Lawson
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 20:16:32

    Well, as a Ravenclaw (LeviosaBlood76), this was depressing to read. There have been a few comments in our common room about using the time-turning cheat but they are usually met with 20+ responses saying NO! NO! NO! I am sure there is cheating in all the houses but the scale of sabotage these Slyths are planning is just unnerving. Talk about accuracy in sorting, they SHOULD all be Slytherins. The Ravs on our common board were also discussing only dueling Gryfs and Huffs when it opens back up to avoid any Slytherin scamming. I am really discouraged by this though. Pottermore was supposed to be this magical thing that a bunch of jerks are ruining. Keep up your spy work and maybe we can get them banned. Is there a way to report their fbook names to Pottermore so linked accounts will be flagged?

  41. SeekerRose184
    Sep 04, 2011 @ 00:32:12

    Thank you for your comments! I’ve taken screenshots of the facebook pages which had their full names (blacked them out for my blog) and reported it to Pottermore. And now i’ve also emailed them the screen shots which I took from that ‘cheater’ who posted above, admitting everything. They’ve emailed me back: saying they’ve now forwarded everything to the appropriate team that will deal with it now (so no longer the feedback people). I do have to say that some cheaters are in every house, and not just Sytherins pffft. Not talking about only the time-turner cheat, but people with duel accounts who lose house points on purpose, to help ‘the house they prefer to win’. I hope pottermore will have a serious look at all the accounts really.

  42. explodedbanana
    Sep 04, 2011 @ 03:53:15

    Lady, this is a beta test, not the real deal. In a beta test, it is not only acceptable but beneficial to exploit cheats and loopholes. You know why? It helps the development team find errors and repair them BEFORE EVERYONE ELSE CAN PLAY. The “cheaters” are helping improve the site for the long run. You need to take your short term blinders, as you’re only looking at the here and now for the House Cup. You do know that the Pottermore team CAN wipe the points. Hell, the probably WILL wipe the points and NOT declare a house cup winner before the site opens. Get over yourself and realize: THIS IS A BETA TEST.

  43. Bruno Bäcker Meyer
    Sep 04, 2011 @ 04:14:47

    According to the Pottermore AND FaceBook terms and conditions , If the personal information is being made public without owner’s consent and Invasion of privacy charges are usually presented in a civil lawsuit.

    Pottermore:
    16 Copyright complaints

    16.1 We respect the intellectual property rights of others, and we prohibit users of Pottermore from submitting, uploading, posting or otherwise transmitting any materials that infringe or violate another person’s intellectual property rights.

    16.2 It is our policy to comply with clear notices of alleged copyright infringement. We have established a designated agent to whom you can report alleged copyright infringement. We have registered this agent with the US Copyright Office by providing them with the necessary documentation. For more information, including how to submit a notice of alleged copyright infringement or a counter-notice, please refer to our Copyright Infringement and Takedown Procedure in our Help pages.

    16.3 Additionally, it is our policy to terminate usage rights and any applicable user accounts of users we determine to be repeat infringers of others’ copyrights. See further paragraph 8 Misuse of Pottermore.

    16.4 Content hosted on third party websites accessible from Pottermore is the responsibility of those websites, and not of Pottermore. If you are the copyright owner of content hosted on a third party website, and you have not authorised the use of your content, please contact the administrator of the hosting website directly to have the content removed.

    • SeekerRose184
      Sep 04, 2011 @ 11:09:42

      You did not have to post your reply 3 times , all comments of people I don’t have approved before are pending…
      Anyways how exactly is posting a page with only a FIRST NAME in a text without any location, age, etc can break the rules? Besides If one person of that FB group left a post here on their own free-will, and identified himself or herself: that’s not my problem.
      I can assure you, the original blog who actually posted the FB pages with all the full names and avis intact for all to see: wasn’t me!! That blog link made its way on twitter and a large group of us debated that one of us should report it. If it wasn’t me who’d had done it, someone else would have!

      Pottermore did not tell me off for reporting what was going on, but the opposite. And yes i’m fully aware they might be glad that it helped identifying a loophole in the beta-phase (i’m not that naive! ). But in meantime it’s still not fair that people made duel accounts (which IS totally against Terms and conditions of Pottermore!), just to ruin the fun of the kids right NOW (beta phase or not).

      I’m Hufflepuff and I am well aware we’ll probably never win the House Cup (even after Beta), but hey at least we’ll try fair and square!

      I’ve now disabled any further comments as I’m aware we can probably go back and forth on this forever. It’s now in the hands of Pottermore anyway, so they’ll decide what to do with the info provided. Thank you all once again for all the comments!

Witches and Wizards

  • 124,127 hits